Cambusnethan Priory or the Priory, as it is known locally, was designed by James Gillespie Graham and completed in 1820. Today the Priory is looked on as one of Graham's best country houses, likely due to its Gothic Revival design.
However, sadly in the 1980s, Cambusnethan Priory was gutted by fire leading to only the golden sandstone shell remains seen today. Although now considered a ruin, stunning gothic carvings remain visible. Even though from across the valley such state cannot be seen, ultimately every year brings further decline to the Priory's current state.